Medical marijuana is legal in Florida. While the state still has a few restrictions, patients will find it easier than ever to get their medical marijuana card.
This guide will provide all the information you need to do so. We’ll walk you through the process of getting your card, how doctors can prescribe medical marijuana, and how much you can buy from a dispensary.
If you’re interested in learning more about how medical marijuana can help improve your quality of life, make sure to read on!
What You Need To Know About Medical Marijuana
Medical marijuana isn’t legal in all states. So, what does that mean for Floridians?
Florida is one of the 29 states (and the District of Columbia) where medical marijuana is legal.
Unlike some states, Florida requires you to have a prescription from a doctor to get your medical marijuana card. If you’re over 18 and living with an approved condition like cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, PTSD, ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease), Crohn’s disease or multiple sclerosis, then this article will tell you everything you need to know about getting your card.
To get your card in Florida, you’ll first need to register as an MMJ patient with the Office of Medical Marijuana Use. You’ll need your Florida driver’s license or identification card number and a signature from a qualified physician attesting that you have one of the qualifying conditions listed above within the past year before submitting a completed application form and a copy of your proof of residency.
How to Get Your Card
The most difficult part of getting your card is actually making an appointment with a physician. Remember that this process can take up to two weeks so plan accordingly.
At the appointment, the physician will have to verify your diagnosis and whether or not you’re eligible for medical marijuana treatment. This can be done by reviewing your medical records or by doing a physical exam.
If they give you approval, then they will prescribe you marijuana in accordance with Florida’s law. You’ll then need to apply for a medical marijuana card at the Department of Health within 14 days of receiving your prescription. You can either do it online or in-person at one of their local offices.
Just remember that if the physician does not approve, then you cannot get a card and will not be able to purchase medical marijuana from any dispensaries in Florida.
Buying From A Dispensary
In Florida, the process of getting a card is relatively easy. In other states, it can be difficult and time-consuming to get this card.
Once you have your card from the state of Florida, you’ll be able to purchase medical marijuana from a dispensary. Dispensaries are businesses that sell medical marijuana.
The prices for medical marijuana vary from dispensary to dispensary. You should always check prices before making a purchase. They will depend on the strain, the weight of the product, and more.
You’ll need to show your ID when you purchase medical marijuana to make sure that your age is appropriate for the legal limits in Florida (18 years old).
Medical marijuana is an alternative treatment option for people who are experiencing chronic pain. It’s not addictive, and it can’t cause a deadly overdose like opiate-based drugs.
We hope you found this guide helpful! Be sure to bookmark it and share with your friends and family if you think they might benefit from this information.